Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I like diaphragms, I've owned the G260 and MK17 numerous times. Based on my experience the G260, in my humble opinion, is one of the best second stages by SP, maybe the best ? Still evaluating the D420. Despite its sometimes large ip swing the MK17 is solid. I've zero experience with the C series. Shopping is fun, owning your own gear is more fun. Good luck.
Out of curiosity why do you like diaphragms over pistons?

Out of curiosity why do you like diaphragms over pistons?

Nothing to do with performance. 2 main reasons, I dive dirty water and I've never gotten on with piston regs.

I've owned SP MK25 and Atomic first stages all gave me trouble out of the box. I've attempted servicing a couple of MK10s and a MK5 to varying degrees of success, happy to accept its me and not those regs. Many say the MK10 is very easy to service so likely it's me.

In contrast I've never had a single issue with any diaphragm reg I've owned or serviced.

I like diaphragms, I've owned the G260 and MK17 numerous times. Based on my experience the G260, in my humble opinion, is one of the best second stages by SP, maybe the best ? Still evaluating the D420. Despite its sometimes large ip swing the MK17 is solid. I've zero experience with the C series. Shopping is fun, owning your own gear is more fun. Good luck.