Cave Diving With Rebreathers?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

HybridDiver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello im new to the rebreather system setup looks pretty hardcore just wondering could you cave dive with them like The Cave they had hardcore setups? and whats a really good rebreather out there that will let you go deep plus stay under for awhile?

yeah, i've seen quite a few guys with rebreathers diving caves

i think the first (or second?) Wakulla project used pretty much all rebreathers

as to specific data, can't help you there, but i'm sure others will

thank you maybe going to get one some day lil pricy but eh its all good for future project

ChrisCrash:
Hello im new to the rebreather system setup looks pretty hardcore just wondering could you cave dive with them like The Cave they had hardcore setups? and whats a really good rebreather out there that will let you go deep plus stay under for awhile?

Absolutely. I can't remember where it was, but somebody a long time ago (relatively), back in the Exley era (it may have been him) developed one especially for cave survey. Allowed him to stay underwater for something like 24 hours.

I'll see if i can dig up the info on it (although its probably outdated by now)

I'm not a rebreather diver, but the only problem i see with it is if you had to bail out inside a cave. But i guess that's ALWAYS a consideration, OC or CC

Just don't use Diverite scooters in caves. They explode if you hit something.