Review my Setup?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sidemount_Stu

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
So i'm probably exposing myself to a heap of abuse here.... but i'm quite new to sidemount and keen to get things as good as possible.... I took this video in the pool recently and would appreciate feedback on setup. (Ignore my hanging Double Ender, that wouldn't normally be there, I forgot to remove it as i was only in the pool)

The video was shot for somebody in particular, so i've placed text all over it with my thoughts.... but i'm interested to get more opinions too......

[video=vimeo;120894491]https://vimeo.com/120894491[/video]

don't worry about the text, it's great to see your self analysis.

I would move the bands up an inch or two to help get the valves a bit farther back but it isn't entirely necessary. If it is comfortable where it is then it is a non-issue.

Right bottle is clearly hanging heavy, mine does that too, no idea why but I have felt right side heavy for the last few sessions and haven't figured it out yet. Right bottle is hanging perfectly, so I would mimic that on the left side whether it is clipping to the different attachment point or moving the d-rings to the appropriate position.

Look really good though, the rest of this is just nitpicking. Twinsets are certainly a bit easier eh?