Go Pro Lights - Review?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mcohen1021

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
So, been thinking about getting some video lights for my go pro 9, but then looked at the prices and then thinking, no thanks... I like to dabble in UW pics and vids, but i'm not that good at it, dont want to be. just decent is good enough. Never want to be "that guy with the camera set up"

Yall should know what I mean.

Either way, I came across this inexpensive setup and I was wondering if anyone else has it, used it, and have an opinion or review on it.

Next trip is oct 22, so I need to make a decision on it. I figure i'm not losing much for $85, but hate to waste money.

Also, does anyone have a recommendation for a ref filter? The kit with 3 that I have, i dont feel really bring out much color.

Thanks in advance.

For reference, I bought a pair of Orcatorch d530v. 1000 lumens each. In the open water, they do absolutely nothing. I was checking to see if they are on. In dark “caves” they do light up the scene enough to take a decent video, but I don’t know if a single one would give you good results.

If I had the budget, I would buy a single bigger light and would hope to buy a second later.

So, been thinking about getting some video lights for my go pro 9, but then looked at the prices and then thinking, no thanks... I like to dabble in UW pics and vids, but i'm not that good at it, dont want to be. just decent is good enough. Never want to be "that guy with the camera set up"