Rebreather for tech diving, need suggestion's

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Life-Is-Good-Diver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Im just getting into the rebreather seen here, and looking for some help, and have a few question's being everyone here in this part of the fourm knows what there talking about with this :

1. I own 3 set's of doubles, a few deco bottles, and 5 reg's to do a 180' dive, and look at my equipment and see over 10k sitting there, im starting to wonder why dosn't everyone who tech dives use a rebreather?

From what i can see, and little research i did, there really not much more then what i have invested into ALL my gear right now to go deep, and now after reading people tying in there VR3 computer's , and all the research so far that i have done, there seem to be many advantages to a closed circut rebreather, and also have many advantages from what i can see. So the question is being im new to rebreahter's, but really considering buying a rebreather here withen the next 4-6 month's for deep dive's, is what are the pro's and con's to diving one against open circut? Also as im am siging up for a Tri-mix course soon as well, how expensive do they run once needing a unit to do that type of diving? Also what about "bail out" and Redundancy?