affordable equipment

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

d-port

New
Reaction score
I finally got my certification after years of wanting to learn to scuba dive. I had a blast and see myself really getting into the sport. that being said, i want to purchase gear rather than wasting a ton of money on rentals all of the time- the problem is I am a very poor college student. i am writing here to get an idea of what brands are relatively inexpensive but still good quality, and can be used in a variety of waters. most of my diving will probably be in the new england area. i gather from other posts that i should really try on a bc as comfort is key, however i was originally under the impression that dacor and mares were very good. after reading some posts here, i am not so sure that is the case. can anyone please help out and let me know of some cheaper priced equipment? please-

The quality and innovation of the current selection of dive gear is at it's highest. Mares and Dacor are fine! Many of our members are highly opinionated and they tend to be all for something or all against. Use your best judgement and buy the best you can as money will allow. I hope your underwater journey is a fascinating one. Go blow some bubbles.

BTW, if you really aren't sure just what you want to dive, then rental can give you access to many different brands without having to buy each one to test. Many LDS's will let you try/rent new stuff as well.

What NetDoc said plus...

Look for reviews on the equipment and product recalls, etc.