Why the big Diff in wing $$$

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sarahlee

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
Just curious as I am just getting into backplate / wing setup diving

Why the big difference in wing prices? Are the pricier ones sooooo much better constructed?

For instance for a 30# (ish):

Piranha $185
OMS $275
DiveRite $299
Oxycheq $320
Holis $339
x-tek $360

hmmm......

They're made (and/or) sold by capitalists?.....just a stab in the dark.

Just curious as I am just getting into backplate / wing setup diving

Why the big difference in wing prices? Are the pricier ones sooooo much better constructed?

For instance for a 30# (ish):

Piranha $185
OMS $275
DiveRite $299
Oxycheq $320
Holis $339
x-tek $360

hmmm......

Did you see my recent post on my new BP/W setup? Review: XDeep Ghost BCD- BP/W

It was $700 complete (Wing, backplate, neutrally buoyant padding, all webbing, D rings, inflator and with the optional large capacity weight pockets). If you think it is something that would interest you, let me know and I will let you know who I purchased mine through or anything else you'd like to know.- Greg