Why Dry?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jarrett

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'm a warm water newbie that doesn't dive anything colder than 65 degrees generally. If I wanted to dive colder, is a drysuit my next step? Why is dry better than more layers of neoprene? How cold can you comfortably dive in a drysuit?

Jarrett:
How cold can you comfortably dive in a drysuit?
I did 2 hrs and 20 min in 41F water. Try that in a wet suit.

Jarrett:
I'm a warm water newbie that doesn't dive anything colder than 65 degrees generally. If I wanted to dive colder, is a drysuit my next step? Why is dry better than more layers of neoprene? How cold can you comfortably dive in a drysuit?
My limit for driving wet is about 70 degrees. I find diving dry far more comfortable than diving wet.

Roak

Dry is warmer. You choose your undergarments to suit the water temperature. Most drysuits have no inherent insulating capacity. You can dive anything that's still liquid in a drysuit. They use drysuits for research diving under the ice in the Arctic and Antarctica. I've been in 41F water myself. A drysuit is a major investment (they are generally over $1000 and can run a lot more), but it should last longer than a wetsuit, so the total cost over time should be similar, or at least not as big a difference as it appears comparing one wetsuit to one drysuit. You would buy at least three or four wetsuits, if not more, over the life of a drysuit.