Removing Si-Tech dry gloves

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bertschb

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I've been using Si-Tech dry gloves for a few months now and I'm still having a really hard time removing them after a dive. I have to twist so hard on the rings that I feel like I'm going to rip the cuffs off the suit. Very, very frustrating. The only way I can get them off within a reasonable amount of time is if my buddy twists on the ring while I hold the cuff.

The ring that is so difficult to twist after a dive spins freely when the gloves are off the suit so it isn't binding on anything. The o-rings just seem to be VERY tighly lodged in the cuff. The gloves are in perfect condition. I've never used any silicone or any other material on any part of the glove system.

Any suggesting would be greatly appreciated. I dread getting out of the water because I know what a hassle it will be to remove my stinking gloves. Ug!

Thanks!!

Not yet. SiTech says not to use anything. I did get a suggestion to use spit so I'm going to try that first.

most people I know with these gloves spit on o-ring as you've heard. It seems to work ok. Helps to get them on and off.

The Si Tech bayonet gloves are now being shipped with a small tube of silicone; folks have been running out of spit at inopportune moments. :wink: