questions about dive gear purchase help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bo bennett

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
its my first time on this site, hopefully someone can help.Approx thirty dives, buyin some gear. either atomic b2 or scubapro mk/25 600. maybe seaquest balance or scuba pro nighthawk. back inflate vs. jacket? does the back inflate really float you on your face? does the jacket float you upright in a unconsious emergency? just so confused. every dive shop has a pitch! help me folks. please

You can search the "BCD", and "Regulator" forums for countless threads discussing your questions if you ever feel like reading for a long time. While I think you would be equally happy with either regulator, I'd get the Mark 25/S600 unless they are from different LDS's and you like the Atomic dealer better. Back inflate BCD's won't float you on your face unless you want it to (as in snorkeling). Neither type is guaranteed to float an unconscious diver upright as they are not USCG approved life jackets; however, you would have a better shot at it in a jacket type where the bladder surrounds you. When you trained in a jacket type BCD you probably inflated it all the way when you were on the surface. When you make the switch to a back inflate don't do that, just put enough air in it to get your head out of the water. I feel your pain about the LDS pitch, just don't let them lead you into something you don't want.