Injured Bottom of Both Feet - Certification Dives

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

spacemanspiff862

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello Diving Community!

I am new to diving (currently 1x dive away from receiving my open water certification) and I'm currently dealing with an injury that is confusing me.

6 days ago I did 3 dives (~30 minutes each, maximum 45' depth, 64 degrees F water temperature) off the coast of Southern California. Dives went well no issues to report during the dives themselves.

My fins are Tusa Hyflex (USA 10-14 size) and by booties are Cressi 5mm dive boots (size 13). I am a size 13 shoe (US).

16 hours after my last dive I wake up with an immense amount of pain in the balls of both of my feet. Incredibly tender, sore, swollen, very difficult to walk. I have since developed lots of bruising, on both feet.

The pain has been present for 5-6 days, I've noticed it reducing slightly. A podiatrist took an X-Ray, nothing is broken, and they think I have turf toe. Others have mentioned fin foot, allergic reaction, etc.

I am looking to see if anyone has had a similar experience and if so what was the root cause / contributing factors for this.

Really appreciate any and all ideas / guidance.

Thank you!