Shopping for Carbon Monoxide (CO) tank testers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DandyDon

Umbraphile
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
One kilometer high on the Texas Central Plains
# of dives
500 - 999
Carbon Monoxide in Tanks: Risks & Testers

I've been exploring this under appreciated risk for a few years now, and the more I learn - the more I see why more knowledgeable and accomplished divers don't try to spearhead this needed change in wide spread apathy. It's been a real Don Quixote adventure...

The biggest dive agency in the world and even DAN have let this go so long that they don't seem to want to address it now. I can only guess why? DAN admits that they have no idea how many close calls are written off as travelers flu and the like, or how many CO caused deaths are written off as just drownings. I had the pleasure of a nice, long phone chat with DAN's Chairman and he gave a lot of nice rhetoric to the idea, but action is still unseen.

When I have tried to ask Operators to see required quarterly air test results in years past, I usually hear about how it can't really be done in remote locations, even in Cozumel for example which has several non-stop US flights a day - except it can indeed anywhere with FedEx service, as a few around the world do send samples to the approved testing firms.