Reef Dive or Baited Shark Dive off Palm Beach?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kate Rister

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I will have just one day to dive in early February while in Jupiter, FL, in route to Homosassa to photograph the manatees. I have been researching the diving in Jupiter. My options are a 3 tank dive where each dive is just sharks. OR, a 2-tank dive on reefs where sharks may be present. I am a photographer, anyone have suggestions on which of those two dives would be better?

What is your objective?
Must you have shark pictures?
Do you support the killing of fish and the use of it to artificially attract and influence the behavior and spatial distribution of sharks?
Are you willing to assume the additional personal safety risk associated with entering the water with sharks that have been artificially stimulated and possibly fed?

Consider diving the wrecks off West Palm where sharks are likely but not guaranteed. Force E on Blue Heron Blvd in Riviera Beach does not have boats but places divers on a variety of boats depending on what the boats are doing and what the diver desires. There are many dive shops and dive boats in the small area surrounding 3-4 marinas. This area is about 15-20 minutes south of Jupiter on US1.

I am comfortable in my ability to participate in both shark dives and regular dives in which you see sharks. Are the regular dives off of Jupiter as nice as diving in say, Cozumel, Belize, Roatan? I will check out Force E as well, thank you.

Hi Kate,