Pony Bottle for NJ Boat Diving??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

andyman2234

Reaction score
I am a new diver with only about 10 dives. I was in my LDS yesterday and was told that I am required to have at least a pony bottle setup to get only any dive boat in NJ. Is this true?

Like I mentioned I am new to this posting so please don't rip me a new one.

Drew

andyman2234:
I am a new diver with only about 10 dives. I was in my LDS yesterday and was told that I am required to have at least a pony bottle setup to get only any dive boat in NJ. Is this true?

Drew

Yes,

Most boats in NY and NJ REQUIRE a redundant gas source whether it be a pony bottle or a set of doubles...
There are some exceptions, those being some shallow dives and some dives with an instructor..

Thanks padiscubapro

I am getting ready to buy my first setup and I just wanted to make sure that I have a good understanding of what gear I might need in the near future.

By the way, welcome to the board Drew. Pretty helpful place to be aye?

andyman2234:

Drew
Welcome aboard Andyman,