Please please help me choose!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AmysOnline

Reaction score
I really need help choosing a regulator. I am a novice diver (for now) and I am buying my gear for the first time. I have read as much as I can find regarding regulators. (mostly Rodale’s) I have been to all the dive shops in my area. No offense to any shop owners out there – but their opinion vary widely! Every shop I go into – suggests only the regulators they have. They poo poo all their out of stock ones. Example – I was considering the Mares Axis – I thought was a good choice as far as reliability goes (from what I read). While one shop owner who had it in stock sang its praises, another shop owner who did not have it in stock said it was a cheap (ie: ordinary and inferior). Then I was considering the Viper TEC. One dive shop owner who had it in stock swore by it, another shop owner looked at me like I was crazy. “Tell me why you want that!" I really need someone to take me by the hand and say “Amy – this is the one for you”. So many choices – and I admit, being new to this sport, I don’t know enough about all of them to be sure of my own choice. So here’s what I know I’m looking for:

1. A reliable regulator
2. NO Freeflow occurrences
3. Easily serviceable
4. Not going to break the bank.

I don’t plan on any cold water diving. Being in New England – I’ll dive in the summer – so the coldest water I’ll have to deal with is about 65 degrees.