Novice: which camera and case?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MissElaine

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi all, this is slightly a broad thread, but I am looking to possibly investing in a decent digital "point and shoot" camera with underwater casing.

I'm a complete novice but I am looking to try my hand at underwater photography especially on my forth coming trip to the Philippines.

Are there any cameras with casings that are any good? I've seen that Canons are pretty good, and one of my friends has a Sea & sea set up.

Any recommendations are very welcome.

Thanks,

Elaine

My buddy has the Canon Powershot 780 and canon housing and it works great. The HD video it takes is pretty good. Very compact. Previously we also had the SD1000 and that was also a solid compact setup. I think there are probably lots of solid options under $500 for camera + housing.

Hi all, this is slightly a broad thread, but I am looking to possibly investing in a decent digital "point and shoot" camera with underwater casing.

I'm a complete novice but I am looking to try my hand at underwater photography especially on my forth coming trip to the Philippines.

Are there any cameras with casings that are any good? I've seen that Canons are pretty good, and one of my friends has a Sea & sea set up.

Any recommendations are very welcome.

Thanks,

Elaine

Don't get the sealife camera it has some mechanical noise inside and outside the housing whilst videoing. AVOID.