Jaw problems?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RRDiver

Registered
Reaction score
Hey guys, Im new to diving here in central Texas. Well anyways, when I did my open water diver recently, after my second dive I had problems with my jaw locking up. Im wondering if this happens to anyone else. I know they make special mouthpieces of silicone, but I dont own my own gear yet. I figure thats the way to go though to make it more enjoyable. Also, I was wearing a hood which seemed to compound the problem. Well any help would be great. Thanks!

wow... so your jaw locked up? i think you definetely need to see a doctor about
that. that's never happened to me (i use a hood too), though my jaw does get
tired and sore sometimes.

RRDiver:
Hey guys, Im new to diving here in central Texas. Well anyways, when I did my open water diver recently, after my second dive I had problems with my jaw locking up. Im wondering if this happens to anyone else. I know they make special mouthpieces of silicone, but I dont own my own gear yet. I figure thats the way to go though to make it more enjoyable. Also, I was wearing a hood which seemed to compound the problem. Well any help would be great. Thanks!

I had similar problems. I replaced the standard mouthpiece of my reg with a form-fitting Sea-cure mouthpiece. No problems now! You can order one from www.leisurepro.com. Some LDSs carry Seacure as well.

++ Peter