Help with first reg purchase

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rleslie

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
My wife and I got our Open Water this past weekend and we're beginning to look for equipment. We both retire in January and will be living aboard a sailboat. We intend to do our primary diving in the Bahamas & Caribbean and intend to get our Advanced OW before we leave.

I want to support the local shop where we took the classes (I am also a small business owner), but I'm not "locked" into buying from him. He sells Atomic, Aeris, TUSA and Dive Rite. We have no intentions of doing any diving other than rec diving.

I like basic, well built, long lasting, quality, equipment and I'm willing to pay for it (within reason). One of my concerns is maintenance. We intend to sail into the lower Carib and will not always have access to techs, so I'm looking for something that I can service myself.

Your suggestions and comments are greatly appreciated.

Roger & Evans Leslie

Atomic Regulators are exspensive, but in my opinion, one of the best out there. Most regs have a one year maintenance schedule, I believe Atomic Titaniums have a two year. They also have balanced 1st stages, so in theory, breathing resistance should not change with depth. I dive with Atomics on both my technical rig and my open water rig.

I own Atomic and Apeks and have dove Scuba Pro. They are all excellent.