FL or GA sites where I can bring students to complete Open Water dives?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Dear all,

I am an instructor based in Charleston, SC looking to teach independently. But without access to a boat to take students off-shore to complete their open water dives, I am looking for other dives sites where I could take them. I was recommended Devil's Den and Blue Grotto in Florida, but see that they now require all divers to have at least open water certifications to enter. Does anyone have suggestions of sites which can be accessed by shore or of operators who would be willing to contract their boats out to me so that I can lead my own trips and certify students as Open Water divers independently?

thanks in advance for your responses.

~Lauren

Way back when I got certified with the now-defunct Buddy Line Divers in Mt. Pleasant sometime around 1984, we did open water in one of the local ponds, then did the Edisto River under the Walterborough HWY 14 bridge. We were in college at the time, and just happy to be diving, so I don't think we really cared what the water was like! My log also shows dives at Royal, Troy, and Rainbow Springs, but I don't think we were doing OW check-outs at that time.

Isn't there diving available at Lake Jocassee or Keowee?

Dear all,

I was recommended Devil's Den and Blue Grotto in Florida, but see that they now require all divers to have at least open water certifications to enter.