Confused and need clarification -Atomic T1

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kcjones01

Reaction score
Ok I'm relatively new to diving compared to some on these boards. Was at a LDS dive shop that sells Aqualung. We are looking for the first reg. for my wife. Looking at the Titan LX with ABS octo. Also looking at another LDS at a Oceanic Delta 4. Still tyring to determine which one to buy her.

I have Atomic T1 and oceanic octo. Talking with the owner of the LDS while looking at the Aqualung he proceeded to tell me that he would not use a Atomic or any piston regulator. He told me that not only is the T1 not capable of Nitrox even up to 40% like most other titanium regs. but that the piston design is not really a good design.

So this is where you learn all the stuff they don't teach you in basic PADI certification.
I try and read as much as I can and talk with different people to educate myself but for some reason I have two LDS operators with totally different views and I'm not experienced enough to be comfortable sorting out all the info.

If the a piston design is not that good why does Atomic alwyas rate so high in tests?

Why do they call it "over-balanced diaphragm"

what really is the difference between a sealed 1st stage and unsealed 1st stage.

I'd really like to hear from some experienced divers to help me understand.

Thanks is advance.

The person representing the LDS is incorrect in his statements.