Wetsuit for a Big Man

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

UBigBobby

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all,

I'm new to diving and really enjoyed my time doing the discover scuba program in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia recently. As a result, I'm heading to the Philippines to get my OW cert in December and to do some boat dives afterwards. I'll also be going around SE Asia on dives in February and March

My issue is that I am a big guy. A fat American if you will. I'm 6'1" with a chest of about 52in and waist of 42in. In KK I squeezed into a regular XL shorty...and it was NOT a good fit. Knowing that most dive shops I venture to in SE Asia will only have standard sizes, I think it'd be best that I buy my own suit.

I don't really know where to start however. I'm looking to spend about $100 or so. I'm leaning toward a 3mm or 3/2 for the most versatility. I'm also thinking a fullsuit to protect against stings and scrapes.

An added issue is that I live in Seoul, Korea...where diveshops are non-existent, so I can't try one on. I have to go by the size charts and hope for the best.

Most suits seem to top out at a 3XL which has no more than a 50 in chest, but I'm sure stretching it a bit won't be a big deal.