Vacation Trip in April Oahu & Maui

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mddolson

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Greetings,
We're in Ontario, Canada with 20- 30 cm (8-12 inches of snow happening today & tomorrow).
I am retiring end of March. My wife & I are taking a long awaited trip to Oahu & Maui.
We'll be on each island for a week.
We plan to do some snorkeling together & I plan to get a few single tank dives in.
I'm a retired instructor & carry a Master Diver & Nitrox C card when I travel on holiday.
I've made many trips to the Caribbean over the last 35 years but this is our first time to the Hawaiian Islands, & we are unfamiliar with the region.
It's not a diving specific vacation. So traveling relatively light.
I'll have snorkeling gear, dive computer, & housing for my camera.
I'll be renting for the scuba dives.
Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Mike Dolson
Naui 4780/Padi 202288 retired)

"Single tank" makes me think you're focusing on shore diving? If that's the case I'd focus more on diving Maui - I think there are more quality shore diving sites there. On Oahu, the North Shore has great shore diving but the swells limit the dive season and might not be gone before you come. After that is the West Side (Makaha, Electric Beach, etc.)