UTD Essentials anyone?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

masterof0

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am working with UTD to potentially set up an Essentials class in Monterey. My first thought is the mid-late June timeframe, but am open to other options. Really just looking to see if there is any interest right now. The responses I get will determine will determine next steps.

If you you have any other questions please feel free to PM.

Thanks

Hi,
I'm pretty new to diving (12 dives) but I have (from what I've read) a DIR compliant setup and was thinking to take an essentials/ fundamentals class in the future (I'd like to get a few more dives in first though). It seems hazy to me what the differences between the UTD essentials and the GUE fundamentals training are though? Is there any reciprocity between the two organizations in case I wanted to take a more advanced class through GUE if I passed the UTD essentials class?

-Erik

There is no reciprocity between UTD and GUE, in that GUE will not accept UTD classes as equivalent. UTD, however, will admit divers at their level of training, subject to confirmation by an instructor.