Used gear warranty???

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sixgears

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm fairly new to diving and have a question regarding used gear that's being sold privately whether here on SB, on eBay, etc. Some people seem to think that when they sell their almost new-in-box gear to someone else, the buyer is entitled to the remainder of the warranty. My understanding is that the original purchaser is entitled to the warranty and that's it.

Essentially, if someone buys equipment from an authorized retailer, then turns around and sells said equipment to someone else the next day even though they haven't used it, the warranty is, in fact, void.

I know that there may be ways around this but, am I missing something? :confused:

My X1 is the only piece of dive gear I own with a warranty that's transferable.

If there's a defect, most any manufacturer that I have dealt with will fix any defective device lest they suffer a lawsuit.

I have had returns to Aqualung, Sherwood, ScubaPro, Beauchat, Mares, Zeagle and others that were long beyond any warranty period that was ever in force.

They were happy to see the defect and any supporting material that allowed them to improve their product.

Are you missing something about warranties?

Yes, they're over rated.

NudeDiver:
How does the manufacturer know if you are the original owner anyway?
Because presumably you registered the warranty with the manufacturer, dealer, or both.