Unmatched computers+redundancy=need redundant brain?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

aquacat8

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Looking to introduce some redundancy into my rig I recently bought a reg (for a pony) that has an unfamiliar computer attached to it, and I thought great, I just got my redundant computer too! But I looked at the manual online and my eyes glazed over. Mind you, I’m the girl large colorful tissue loading bars were invented for: I’m an artist type and Math and I parted ways in ninth grade. The more numbers swirling around on the screen the worse the comprehension here. I just replaced my old Oceanic Datamax Pro Plus with a Pro Plus 2 ( Thank You Oceanic!) What I really want to back it up is a Geo2. The thought of trying to learn another interface is making me eye my boyfriend’s new vintage style Seiko watch. Can anyone relate?

I get it! I have a couple DG02 computers that are nice, but just way too much info in a small space.

One reason I upgraded to a shearwater. Beyond just the capability, it is a very simple computer to use.

Do you dive nitrox or multiple gas mixes? If not, you might track down an old Aladdin Pro. I have two I keep around for spares. They are rock solid dive computers, and get you pretty close to that "vintage Casio" level of simplicity. Last one I bought for $10 because it needed a battery.

I do dive nitrox. The new one is an Aladin Prime from maybe 2011, perhaps I should give it a pool dive.