undecided and confused

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

stormtpr

Reaction score
:confused: I am new to SCUBA diving, and I havent even started my classes yet ( starts in 3 weeks on Aug,17th) I need some help from the vets.... What is better, Regular fins, or split fins? The folks at the school tell me the Atomic splits are better then the Tusa Expert splits... BUt I read some articles on here that say they (the plit fins) SUCK. If they suck, what is a good pair of regular fins to get? Price is not a factor, I want quality and efficiency. I dont want to start out with just a basic pair for starters, I want to start with a good pair so I can keep them and get used to them. Please help me to make a decision before class on the 17th.

Thanks
Doug Stidham

I have a pair of Mares Volo, they are regular fins (not split), with some great characteristics. Here's the link to the Mares site:

http://www.mares.com/en/pinne/volo_en.html

If you do decide to go with these or any other fins for that mattter, you can find better prices on the net than with your LDS. By making a decision soon you can get your fins by the start of your class. Another way (LDS owners close your eyes) is to go to the LDS, try different ones on and discuss pros and cons with the shop workers, then go online to purchase them (that's what I did).

Good luck with your class.

Mel