Trying to get my gal certified in Austin

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BullSharkGator

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm an Advanced Diver with NAUI and PADI ties.

I'm not really loyal to any dive shop because I have not really been impressed compared to the three shops I worked with in Florida. So far, I've been getting a few fills from a few different shops, just to get a vibe.

I'm sure it'll take time to warm up to a new shop, so I'm optimistic.

I'm somewhat new to Austin. My girlfriend wants to get certified later this year. Any suggestions on which shop to send her to? Any body have some thoughts on the subject?

BigBull

I don't know if you came to my shop for any fills, but welcome to Austin. Oak Hill Scuba offers certification for either NAUI or PADI if you have a preference. We offer classes on weekend or evening schedules and have private or semi-private training available. we're located in south Austin on Hwy 290, out near the Y in Oak Hill.

As far as your girlfriend getting certified later this year, I think the sooner the better. As you noticed, the weather is getting warmer (95 today!). Before long, it will be downright HOT. Since the lake is still chilly, we do our check out dives at Aquarena Springs in San Marcos. The water there is a constant 72, vis is exceptional and there is plenty of aquatic life to see. The sooner she gets certified, the sooner y'all can go diving together.

I'm an Advanced Diver with NAUI and PADI ties.