Troubling mask issue on CCR

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

muddiver

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right forum to try to figure out my problem, but here goes. I started training on a Jetsem KISS Sport CCR and it seems realitively simple (not that moving from FO2 to PO2 thinking is simple) and I have been doing really well with the main skills.

My problem didn't surface until my open water dives. About 20 minutes into the dive I start having this problem with sucking through my nose and eventually I suck salt water into my nose. This has occurred even when I try to concentrate on keeping my nose closed to breath through my mouth. :confused:

My instructor said he check around and this ends up being a fullface mask diver issue. Granted I perfer to dive a fullface mask on OCR, but I don't dive that way all the time. I use a regular scuba regulator and regulator scuba mask on vacation and I don't have this problem. Also I switched from a 30 year old design mask to a new Atomics Aquatics mask.

Anyone hear of this kind of problem.

I had the problem my first few times on CCR. I've never been on a full face mask, so I can't speak to that. However, when I was aware that OC I often kept positive pressure in my scuba mask, and now I had to pay closer attention to equalizing it when changing depth.