Tipping on a LOB in Indonesia

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Clernix

Contributor
Reaction score
I know the tipping question always gets a ughhhh. I need a little help though. I am heading out on an 8 day LOB and a 12 day LOB. I have never done a LOB before so I have no idea what is customary for LOB or for Indonesia.

I am on a local boat and it is priced competitively. Everything I am reading and hearing say the guides are top notch and the crew is very friendly and helpful.

So lets go with a customary tip for good service.

One reason its a concern is I can't do any banking between trips so I have to budget my cash.

I know the tipping question always gets a ughhhh. I need a little help though. I am heading out on an 8 day LOB and a 12 day LOB. I have never done a LOB before so I have no idea what is customary for LOB or for Indonesia.

I am on a local boat and it is priced competitively. Everything I am reading and hearing say the guides are top notch and the crew is very friendly and helpful.

So lets go with a customary tip for good service.

One reason its a concern is I can't do any banking between trips so I have to budget my cash.

Many boats provide suggestions about tipping. For example, the Mermaid boats have the following on their webpage: