The Buddy system and separation problems

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Paulb2

Registered
Reaction score
Dear Divers

I am a trained industrial designer who has recently qualified as a PADI open water diver. I have had little experience in diving, however, in the past year as part of my work I have been involved in a research program with the aim of identifying the main causes of scuba diving accidents, buddy separation being one of them.

Through this research it has come to my attention the contradiction between buddy diving theory taught on dive courses and reality. A divers actions and mental attention during a dive include their desire to explore, relax and take in the surrounding environment often results in failure of the buddy system.
This contradiction forces a diver to choose between, on one hand safety and restrictions whilst on the other freedom to spontaneously explore and follow their own interests (key motives for diving in the first place). The latter option often results in separation both mentally and physically with both buddy divers involved in their own personal experiences.
A quote from the article Finned shark found off Florida (Sportdiver, March 2002) demonstrates the contradictory messages between dive theory and practice and the desire for many divers to take risks (although not always perceived) to get the most out of their own diving experiences.