Temperatures for Wetsuits.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Lost_At_Sea

Contributor
Reaction score
This might sound like a dumb question, but at what different temperatures are wetsuits supposed to be used. Like, when should you wear a 3mm as opposed to a 7mm and etc. I have been diving for a few years now and I still dont know this question. Thanks.

Well, you wear the 7mm when you get cold in the 3mm.

I know, kinda of a smart butt answer.

But there are no set temperatures at which one is "supposed to wear an Xmm wet suit . . .".

The thermal protection to be used by a diver is predicated solely by that particular diver's personal thermal requirements.

In 65 degree water some divers need no more than 3mm, and some divers need 5mm.

If you ever have the opportunity, observe the macho divers who run about in a braggadocio manner exclaiming that they "don't need no stinkin wet suit" on their second or third dives. Watch how they move. Watch how they react.

Wear what YOU need.

I depends upon you.

the K

I agree with Kraken.

Here is a example that it is different for each person. My dive buddy wears a full 5mm suite for most dive and I have full 4/3. In 50 degree water we get cold about the sametime.

When I bought my wetsuite I asked my LDS what siute will keep comfortable for the diving in my area, which is how I ended up with the 4/3.

Last time I was in the Carribean there was a thin rail of a young girl wearing AT LEAST 7 mil. She was shivering, pleading with her father to buy her a drysuit.