Staying Healthy When Diving: How to avoid colds/flu brought on by diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

vb1381

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi

I am fairly new to diving but keep encountering the same problem when I go. I find that after one or two dives, I nearly always develop a cold/flu like symptoms. I am not ill at all before going diving but after a couple of dives, within 24 hours I have blocked nose, sore throat, sneezes which develops into a full on cold and sometimes flu. This has happened to me when diving in Lombok, the Philippines and Malaysia and I just can't figure out the cause of it. Could it just be that I have a particularly weak immune system and my body finds diving too exhausting so my I become more susceptible to illness? Can diving be the cause of this sort of thing? Am I getting germs from the equipment? Is it the dry air I'm breathing when diving? Is it the tropical climate itself (I've tried taking anti-histamine when in the Philippines and it was the dry season so dusty) I just don't know! It ends up wrecking my holiday and preventing me from doing more dives.