Southern WI Rescue/Recovery

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AmyinWV

Reaction score
Hello All,

My husband and I plan to move to the southern Wisconsin area in the near future (somewhere north of Madison and west of Fond Du Lac). I currently work as an EMT-B (plan to start my EMT-P classes this fall, depending on if they have one), fire fighter too.

We also handle (which I am also certified/experianced) water Rescue/Recovery, my true passion. I am also working on my dive master. And I am well aware that people (atleast for us) never seem to drown in clear water (except for the one time when our buddy, Eric, had to recover his friend's uncle, but that's another story) . Our last recovery was absolutely zero viz. I actually found it more comforting to just close my eyes. My greatest fear is that I will have to give it all up when we move.

Is there anyone in this forum that can give me a little heads up on how things are handled in the area? I was afraid the sherriff dept. handles all the recovery. Are the fire departments paid? volunteer? Where are the ambulance services located?

I have located a couple dive clubs in the area, an especially active one in Madison. That is really encouraging. They look like a fun bunch.

I would appreciate any assistance.

Amy

AmyinWV:
Hello All,