P-valve hose routing vs infections?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nicool

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Hi folks,
I've read several threads abiut p-valve routing discussions (up or down) and the discussion is usually a matter of whether you're ok to have a hole in your undergarnments or not.

I've been using downwards routing for 5 years with:
-1 drysuit, 2 successive p-valves
-1 thick wetsuit (almost semi dry) 1 p-valve
Have been very happy with these.
I confess that i have never cleaned any of these p-valves, due to laziness and fear to damage the suit with cleaning solution (white vinegar) if not properly rinced.
Alwas used with a quick disconnect system.
No infection/no issue whatsoever for 200-250 dives.
Note that i have the habit to test the plumbing (aka pee in the valve) on the surface each time i don the suit, so with gravity helping, i presume "fresh pee" cleans/pushes out whatever was left from previous dive.

Now in my new drysuit the p-valve hole has been installed too high and it makes downwards routing difficult, so i am considering upwards routing.

My concern: when plumbing in the quick disconnect with the norprene pipe going up and down to my thing, i am concerned i will have old pee or dirt falling inside the catheter onto my thing (simple gravity again).

What do you think? Am i being over-concerned?

Cheers
Nicolas

You're being over concerned in the wrong areas.