oceanic OC1 flooded... need advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

michael Friesen

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hello everyone,
I have been reading threads on here for a while, never saw the need to sign up till now.

My oc1 computer had one of its buttons unscrew and it flooded this summer while I was working (I worked as a scientific diver). I managed to buy a used oceanic BUD over the summer for cheap so that I could keep diving. I sent the OC1 in for an estimate... and two months after (this week) I received it back fixed, with a bill (440cad$) even if I never accepted any repairs. Being a student, that bill is a little too salty for me and my budget won't allow it.
So since I didn't receive/accept any estimate I called the Oceanic representative and managed to make him agree to cancel the bill if they take back the computer and places the original parts back in. Which leaves me with a transmitter I could try selling. Or I could pay the 440$ with my credit card and try selling it as a kit for a higher amount.

Basically I am asking: are oceanic transmitters easy to sell as a standalone? or do you think the set would sell quicker? Or should I try counting my pennies to get to the 440$ and keep the computer (although I find the whole unscrewing button to be a big design flaw).

Thanks in advance!
Michael!