Newbie needs your advice!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kawboy579

Reaction score
Well hi guys, Ill introduce myself (newbie here): Im Chris, from MI. I have recently completed my open-water course and a few dives, and now am interested in getting my own gear. Primarily, i set out to learn to dive for when i go on vacations in the Caribbean during the winter, but i have also found an interest in diving the great lakes. So these locations are where the equipment will be used.

A friend of mine works at a dive shop, and so has offered to get me my equipment with his discount. I really want to buy quality equipment now and grow into it, rather than having to keep upgrading later. Through some discussion with him and the shop here's what i came up with, and i thought maybee you could give me any advice on this:

--Zeagle Ranger BC
--Atomic SS1 safe second/inflator
--Atomic B2 regulator
--Sherwood Wisdom AI comp (getting an absolute steal on this one)
--80 CF aluminum tank

Anything here that you would recommend against? My buddy said all of these things would work well for any situation im likely to encounter and should provide for reliable service for years to come.

Thanks guys and sorry this is so loooong, but i guess i just have a lot of questions right now.

Chris

If you want to get quality equipment, ditch the Ranger and get a BP/W and a steel tank.
The rest is OK,

Read my rant about Zeagles on the "I'm buying stuff" post above.