New to Scuba

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

primalchaos

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello,

I am new to scuba, and will be taking my open water this next weekend in Bonn Terre. I live in Michigan, and right now all of our water is a solid :)

awesome.. you'll have a blast...

welcome aboard =P

H2Andy:
awesome.. you'll have a blast...

welcome aboard =P

Thank you. Hey, we are visiting Florida in February, around Orlando. Are there any neat (and easy to get to) around there for an afternoon of diving?

Leon

primalchaos:
Thank you. Hey, we are visiting Florida in February, around Orlando. Are there any neat (and easy to get to) around there for an afternoon of diving?

Leon

oh yes.... come down to the forum Florida Conch Divers and ask your
question... you'll get tons of answers.

I would suggest diving Blue Springs (in Orange City); it's like a half-hour drive
from Orlando. Or you can go north for a few hours (two or so) and dive the
Gainesville-High Springs area (Blue Grotto, Devil's Den, Ginnie Springs). These are all easy caverns which you can do as an open water diver safely (you can't carry lights at Blue Springs unless cavern certified).

for ocean diving, i think you'll have to go south to Palm Beach or Ft. Lauderdale. I'm not sure anyone's doing any diving off Daytona this early, but, of course, someone is bound to be doing just that because i said it =P

H2Andy:
oh yes.... come down to the forum Florida Conch Divers and ask your
question... you'll get tons of answers.