New to scuba Diving, need info

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

luke101

Reaction score
Hey I am new to this, I am very interested in pursuing a career in the scuba diving industry, I am 18 years old and last year with one of my grad classes we took a PADI course and got our certificates and dived in Costa Rica, I am going to take the full padi instructor program this summer, for 6 months, and training in cayman islands is involved, so what I need to know is for someone my age, how to get started if I get a job after the class, like is it a good career to get into? how long can you do this until you get bored of it? And if you get a job in lets say cayman islands? how long can I live there for, liek government issues and is it expensive, should I take bartending to make extra money while I am down there? Just information like that would be wonderful...or anything else you can think of to get me stoked on this, because I am a little iffy on it, my parents want me to take either business or this, and I don't want to spend my life in an office always stressing, so ya, oh and also are their skateboard parks down there haha, well anything wil be useful, I know it is a lot of questions but I need some advice, thanks

Howdy!

And welcome to SB - the biggest, the best, the fastest growing, and :D the friendliest!
If you'll click ScubaBoard.com above, you'll be taken to our long list of forums, a wealth of information and resources. At the bottom, be sure to notice the Local & Singles Dive Club forums.