Mares Proton Ice or SP MK25 S600??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bigkidneys

Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to diving here in Guam and am trying to get a good setup for diving while I am here for the next 2-4 years. I have not tried many regs except the standard SP R190 rentals here. My choices on island are SP, Mares, and Aqua Lung. I will only need it for the warm waters here and wouldl ike to have something that will take me into deeper diving once that time comes. I like the way the proton supposedley breathes for you and the fact that it is metal, eases some of the cotton mouth. The smallness of it as well is appealing to lessen jaw fatigue. However, there is that huge following of SP fans here as well. I have only used the R190s so I have no idea what the MK 25 S600 breathes like. Can anyone give me a good opinion of both? Naturally both LDS here only tell me of the pros andn ever the cons of the two regs. Thanks a million!

Jason

The S600 is probably the best breather on the market. In terms of performance, nothing beats it. The only downside of Scuba Pro's are their cold water/ice diving compatibility, where some have a tendency to freeflow, but that doesn't apply in your case. Unless the price difference is huge, I'd go with the SP.