Looking for opinions on this Cressi package deal (BCD, regulator, octo, gauge)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

novasquid

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hey everyone. The wife and I recently spent two weeks in Hawaii where we did our first open water dives on Oahu, Maui and BI. And now we're hooked. We rented all the gear at the time (except the snorkel sets we bought for the certification classes). Now I'm looking to buy the rest of our gear.

I'm still a noob doing a lot of reading and researching, but here is a list of gear I plan to buy. I did a search for the Cressi MC5 regulator on this board but couldn't find too many opinions on it, except a recall back in 2009. Any thoughts? There's a package deal where all of the items below can be had for $710 versus $973 individually. I thought that was a pretty damn good deal. I also plan to purchase a Hollis DG03, but that's not part of the package deal.

CSBOE.JPG
Cressi Ellipse Octopus
$119.95

CSBTL.jpg
Cressi Travelight BCD 2013
$425.95

CSBREB5.jpg
Cressi Ellipse Black MC5 Regulator
$299.95

CSB2GC.JPG
Cressi Mini 2 Gauge Console (Imperial)
$126.95

Cressi are not renown for their regulators or service network. I personally would look at other brands, such as Aqualung or Scubapro. You could probably get an Aqualung Titan package for a similar if not cheaper pricce and the Titan is a great reg. Don't rush into a purchase have a look around this board on other brands, reviews etc. Good luck.