Learning how to find macro life on the reef

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BarnBrat

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
[COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)]Hi guys, I have been diving for the past 3 years, coming up on 100 dives. My husband and I take at least 2 trips a year to the Caribbean. Our fall trip this year is Roatan which I know is a Mecca for macro life. I would love to learn more about finding the little hidden gems on my own, instead of just relying on the DM to find things. I know the key is to GO SLOW, but I don't really know what I'm looking for or where to even look (Obviously some habitats are better than others) Would anyone like to give me a Macro finding 101 primer? Or maybe a top 10 list of favorite/most common macro species to find in Roatan and where to find them? Any recommended books or websites? I've tried doing some web searching on my own to learn more, but there doesn't seem to be many resources about the little stuff. Any shared knowledge or tips would be greatly appreciated! =) [/COLOR]

The books only show you the pictures and in a very small way, they describe the niche environments as best they can. I like the Paul Humann series the best.