Laws not alowing beach access in Long Island

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sjensenpiper

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I live in farmingdale which is a part of the town of Oyster Bay. I have just learned even though I am a tax paying resident I can not use the public beaches for water access. I am wonder what the deal is with this. I read the code and can under stand that they don't want you to use spear guns with in 200 ft of swimming area but what is the deal with not allowing you to enter and swim out. There is a couple of wrecks right off the beaches. Any thought from any one??:idk:

That's a reasonable public policy IMO. I am a native of S Florida beaches and I cannot ever recall witnessing anyone handling spearguns on a beach. The law is basically in place to prevent boats and their divers from nearing public areas...

May be I didn't undrestand the situation, will they not let you access via beach at all or not let you access via beach with speargun?

Bob

That's a reasonable public policy IMO. I am a native of S Florida beaches and I cannot ever recall witnessing anyone handling spearguns on a beach. The law is basically in place to prevent boats and their divers from nearing public areas...

:confused:???

The OP just mentioned he agrees with the interdiction of spearguns. He never talked about boats.
He wants to know why he can't simply have access to open water from the beach to explore nearby wrecks.

Your comment is of no help to him.:shakehead:

:confused:???