Komodo and Mermaid II

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

alwinfield

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to scubaboard but old to life...Hope you can help me.
I have been looking at both Thailand/Puket and Bali/Komodo...Can anyone comment on these two locations and in particular on Mermaid II. I have been on liveabords in the Caribbean, Red Sea, Australia, PNG and Palau. Would someone like to comment on these locations as apposed to Komodo. Thanks

I have been to both and personally I prefer Komodo over Phuket for a few reasons. While the Similan/Richeliue are a very nice spot for diving, they have become so congested, too many cattle boats for my taste. I still go there but it seems that every time I go, I seemed to enjoy it less but for me, it is an easy location to get to since I live in Thailand. However, in comparison to Komodo, it has a few advantages, water is quite a bit warmer, generally 28-30C where as Komodo was 21-26C (last August when I was there), the dive is much easier as Komodo has much stronger current and is infamously known for down current but your DM should be able to plan the divesite regarding to current etc appropriately but still, diving there is more challenging but not dangerously so. Andaman sea in season has relatively decently chance of seeing whalesharks. I am not sure if there was any report of whaleshark in Komodo however you may have a chance to see sunfish in Bali.