Keys in the Spring

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Heading to the Keys for the first time in May. Plan to spent time in Key Largo, an island in the middle to be determined later and Key West. In an effort to optimize my time I was looking for recommendations for dive sites in the area. Primarily interested in natural environment rather than wrecks. I have been diving for about 18 years, but am taking my son along (new to diving) looking at air dives to 80 fsw or less. Any recommendations are welcome, as well as recommendations for an island in the middle. Thanks

And welcome to SB...

Here's a link to help you with your research: http://www.fla-keys.com/diving/

After you read some there, maybe you could narrow your question down, so we can better help youl...?

don

Seacliff49:
Heading to the Keys for the first time in May. Plan to spent time in Key Largo, an island in the middle to be determined later and Key West. In an effort to optimize my time I was looking for recommendations for dive sites in the area. Primarily interested in natural environment rather than wrecks. I have been diving for about 18 years, but am taking my son along (new to diving) looking at air dives to 80 fsw or less. Any recommendations are welcome, as well as recommendations for an island in the middle. Thanks

In Key Largo, I recommend Molasses Reef for dramatic underwater scenery and variety of corals and fishes, and Snapper Ledge for sighting nurse sharks, moray eels, and schooling fishes.