How do you figure dispalcment (H20)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mr. Bubble

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am studying my DM manual, and it goes into great detail about physics and bouyancy, weights, lift...etc....but they always seem to "give" you the displacement figure e.g." the motor displaced 3.2cfsw. The diver displaces 4.5 cfsw.

Is there a way to figure displacement of an object precisley without dropping it into a giant water tank with measurments on the side? Can you size up a student with a measuring tape, or any object that you want to lift just by measuring it first?

Not really. You can roughly approximate with people, but the only exact way to get that value is to measure displaced volume directly.

Sometimes its hard to do the same with objects... they got nooks and crannies for air to escape and water to get in, so an object may displace much less water than outwards appearance may indicate.

Mr. Bubble:
I am studying my DM manual, and it goes into great detail about physics and bouyancy, weights, lift...etc....but they always seem to "give" you the displacement figure e.g." the motor displaced 3.2cfsw. The diver displaces 4.5 cfsw.

Is there a way to figure displacement of an object precisley without dropping it into a giant water tank with measurments on the side? Can you size up a student with a measuring tape, or any object that you want to lift just by measuring it first?