How about the People we meet on the dive boats?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

waynel

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been diving Cozumel for 15 years. Belize, the Keys...you name any place in the carib or atlantic. We all get on these forums and talk about how wonderful the divers were, what we saw, the ops, how great the dive master was...but we never talk about ourselves. And by that I mean...the people we dive with. And that's the beautiful thing about diving. We dive with people of every walk of life, income level, etc. And the only reason I post this on the Cozumel site is because, for all the places I have dived, Cozumel diving, like South Beach in Miami when just laying on a beach is where you will meet the most diverse people. In Cozumel, I have dived with multi-millionares and not know it until the third of fourth day of the dive (on a six-pack, not the cattle boats). I have been on the little boats with journalists, doctors, lawyers, guys who own 200 unit condos in Coz, you name it. But on that little six pack boat? You do five or six SITS with them and you suddenly start talking to them, not as contractors (like me) or doctors, lawyers, government officials from around the world...but as "divers." When you go down 100 ft. on Columbia, or shoot Devil's Throat, your "position" in life doesn't matter. It's all about diving. My latest dive in Coz was with such professionals. It was with Christi's op, and thank you Christi for sending a boat out with just three divers. And we all had