Hello! Am new here, and am relatively new to diving!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi! My name is Matthew and I'm fairly new to diving. I live in southwest Florida where diving isn't as popular as I thought it would be, but I still go every chance I get. I have 20 open water dives under my belt and looking to start getting into advanced open water.

Something fairly irrelevant that I've always wondered about is, why are there so many different organizations that teach? NAUI, PADI, SDI, etc. Which did you guys learn and get your certifications with? Is there a big difference between them?

Same reason why there's McDonald's and Burger King.
But McDonald's and Burger King sell different products. At the end of the day you're still scuba diving, so is it just a matter of difference between how the classes are taught? Money? I'm not really sure.

Welcome to SB!