Good Beginner Dive Computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JohnBator

New
Reaction score
Hi... I'm a novice diver (received SSI certification a couple years ago... have done about a dozen dives since). I'm looking to purchase a quality, reliable, first dive computer that will serve me well as I improve my skills and gain more experience. But I don't want to spend a fortune, considering how much all the other gear costs! Any suggestions on a great first dive computer? Thanks.

I seem to be recommending this a lot recently: Mares M1. It's an entry level price and has enough features that you will need to be doing technical diving before you think of replacing it.

And one of the biggest advantages: you don't have to ship it off to the dealer to change the batteries.

It has a gauge mode too, so it works as a nice bottom timer for deco dives.

Peter

For under $300, I bought the Aeris Atmos 2 with Nitrox capability. The Atmos 1 with only air is now available at some dive outlets for $99. N audible alarms on this one though. And being a novice, I think audible alarms are a good backup since on your first dives you will be busy looking at your environment and tend to forget about your computer once in a while. Oh, these are wrist mounts I am speaking of, BTW. They do come in console but cost quite a bit more this route.

Axua:
The Suunto Mosquito or Vyper is also a nice entry level computer.

Or the Sunnto Gekko, just no download feature.