Cozumel Dive Ops - Five Star IDCs vs Forum Recommendations

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

phylosopher

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
Hi all! My partner and I are currently planning a trip to the Yucatan Peninsula with the goal of getting our OW certification in Cozumel. I'm completely new to diving and a bit confused on picking a safe dive op that will ensure we learn everything we need to get a good foundation. Another consideration is that we're both students and so are looking for a fairly cost-effective option.

Based on recommendations on this forum and others, we will be getting our confined water training + classroom time done at home before Cozumel. However, in terms of picking a dive op for our referral dives, I'm a bit confused on how to select a good option.

I went through all the 5 star dive ops on the PADI site but a lot of the recommendations I see on this forum aren't 5 star dive ops. Is that not a reliable metric? What else should I be considering when deciding which option to pick?

For vacation diving, I've spent more time in the Caribbean than Mexico, so I can't share any specific recommendations for your trip, but ask around and you'll get plenty of good tips here. I certainly wouldn't sweat the fact that a dive center that comes highly recommended otherwise isn't playing the 5star game.