Garmin descent mk1

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cristianopoli

Registered
Reaction score
Hallo, I’m new to scuba.. I need a computer. And I am a Fenix 5 happy user. I use it for running and alpinism.
I really like descent mk1 but I’ve read some bad reviews about bugs and support.
Do you have opinions about this watch..? Is it Better a specific scuba computer...?
Thank you!!!
Cristiano

Yes I know but it will be a bit too expensive... mk1 has a lot of features for me and the use that I’ll do... but cheaper. But I don’t know if it’s a good computer..

I've had a Mk1 since March 2018 and I am happy with it. It has performed well as a dive computer as well as a sports watch (running mostly) and an all day activity tracker.

It is far from perfect and has had numerous bugs, although none of them affect the safety of it.

Examples of the bugs include:
  • Displaying a different temperature on the dive to what is logged (this was fixed twice and reintroduced with the latest fix)
  • In dive compass only working with True North and not Magnetic North. This was more of an oversight and was fixed in the first few months.
  • No safety stop on watch if you go into deco but then clear before reaching 5 metres. This was reported, fixed, reintroduced and fixed again.
The biggest problem is the poor support from Garmin. We report issues or ask questions but get no response at all. That said, it is much the same sort of support I get from Apple or Tesla, so it is probably typical of large companies.